Design For The American Stage: Treasures From The Ohio State University's Lawrence and Lee Theatre Research Institute
February 10 - April 17, 2005

Promotional exhibition postcard featuring a black and white artwork of a woman sitting in a chair

Nena Couch, Curator and Professor, The Jerome Lawrence and Robert E. Lee Theatre Research Institute, The Ohio State University: The Ohio Arts Council’s Riffe Gallery will present an exhibition bringing the magic of the stage to the gallery February 10 – April 17, 2005. Design for the American Stage: Treasures from The Ohio State University’s Jerome Lawrence and Robert E. Lee Theatre Research Institute spans from the late 1800s into the 21st century and includes professional American theatre design for drama and comedy, musical theatre, opera, dance, and outdoor spectacle. The exhibition, which includes 63 works by more than 40 artists, is curated by Nena Couch, professor of theatre at The Ohio State University.   Through their set, costume and lighting work, designers make the onstage world real for us and, at the same time, create documentation that remains as a reminder of the performance and a record of the design process. The artists represented in Design for the American Stage range from acknowledged masters of American stage design throughout the 20th century to contemporary designers. The master designers in the exhibition are among those who have greatly influenced the development of American stage design. Many have taught either formally or by taking apprentices.

Featured artists include Armbruster Scenic Studio, John Arnone, Boris Aronson, William Barclay, Caroline Beasley-Baker, Eugene Berman, Lewis Brown, Lloyd Burlingame, Franco Colavecchia, Ray Diffen, Raoul Pène Du Bois, Harry Feiner, Robert Fletcher, Peter Flinsch, David Gallo, Mordecai Gorelik, Daniel A. Gray, Louise Guthman, Russell Hastings, Ken Holamon, Norris Houghton, Toni-Leslie James, Robert Edmond Jones, Gordon Micunis, Jo Mielziner Motley, Martin Pakledinaz, Dennis Parker, Terry Parsons, William Pitkin, Lester Polakov, David Rigler, Wolfgang Roth, Eduardo Sicangco, John Scheffler, Tom Skelton, Tony Straiges, Rouben Ter-Arutunian, and Patricia Zipprodt.