The Quilted Surface II: International Contemporary Art Quilts by Surface Design Symposium Participants
May 6 - July 18, 2004

Colorful promotional exhibition postcard with a figure of a person

The Quilted Surface II: International Contemporary Art Quilts by Quilt Surface Design Symposium Participants will be on view at the Ohio Arts Council’s Riffe Gallery May 6 through July 18, 2004. The exhibition includes 36 works by artists from the United States and abroad.  Since 1990, the annual Quilt Surface Design Symposium has brought together the very best instructors in the art quilt medium with students from around the world for two weeks of workshops and lectures. The culmination of the experience for several of the students is The Quilted Surface II, an exhibition highlighting the best quilts from the symposium’s participants. Jurors Jill Davis, manager of exhibitions, Wexner Center for the Arts, and Ned Wert, professor emeritus of art, Indiana University of Pennsylvania, selected 36 quilts from 182 entries. More than 1700 people have participated in the symposium since its inception.

Featured artists include Ann M. Adams (San Antonio, TX), Sue Cavanaugh (Columbus, OH), Georgie Cline  (Columbus, OH), Jette Clover (Cocoa, FL), Marcia Derse (Sylvania, OH), Joan L. Deuel (Richford, NY), Deborah Fell (Urbana, IL), Clairan Ferrono (Chicago, IL), Pamela Fitzsimons (Mt. Vincent, Australia), Valerie S. Goodwin (Tallahassee, FL), Michele Hardy (Mandeville, LA), Pat Hedwall (Lacey, WA), Marilyn Henrion (New York, New York), Judy Hooworth (Morisset, Australia), Ann M. Johnston (Lake Oswego, OR), Catherine Kleeman (Ruxton, MD), Janet Kurjan (Lake Forest Park, WA), Judy Langille (Glen Ridge, NJ), Denise Linet (Center Harbor, NH), Jane Lloyd Antrim (Northern Ireland), Janet B. McIntyre (Miami, FL), Alicia Merrett (London, England), Barbara Murak (Getzville, NY), Dominie Nash (Bethesda, MD), Orna Roglit (Ramat-Hasharon, Israel), Joanie SanChirico (Toms River, NJ), Janet Schultz (Flagstaff, AZ), Joyce Seagram (Toronto, Canada), Virginia Smith (Arlington, VA), Janet Steadman (Clinton, WA), Carol Taylor (Pittsford, NY), Judith Trager (Boulder, CO), Sharon Walton (Pineville, LA), Martha Warshaw (Cincinnati, OH), Barbara Watler (Hollywood, FL), and Sandra Woock (Bethesda, MD).